Christopher Hewitt Awards 2018: Call for Entries

Submissions are now closed. Thank you for your interest!

A&U Magazine is currently accepting entries for the sixth annual Christopher Hewitt Award. Named in honor of A&U’s first literary editor, the award showcases outstanding responses to the AIDS pandemic and the realities of individuals living with or affected by HIV/AIDS in the genres of fiction, poetry, drama, and creative nonfiction.

Prize: $50
Entry fee: None
Submission deadline: June 1, 2018
Judges: Winners will be selected by the following judges, by category.

  • Poetry: Noah Stetzer
  • Fiction: Chael Needle
  • Creative Nonfiction: Joy Gaines-Friedler
  • Drama: Bruce Ward

Publication: Winners and named runners-up will be published in upcoming issues of A&U.
How to Submit: Email  Word (.doc or .docx files) of your work to Managing Editor Chael Needle by clicking here. Please indicate in the subject line that your submission is for the Christopher Hewitt Award; include your name and genre in the subject line as well. Your name or any other personal identifying information should not appear on your manuscript. Multiple submissions are accepted, but please submit each separately.
Guidelines: All submissions must be HIV/AIDS-related and previously unpublished. All styles are welcomed. Fiction and creative nonfiction should be 1,200 words or fewer, double-spaced. Drama may be an excerpt from a longer work or a ten-minute play (1,400-1,600 words, no more than ten pages, Dramatists Guild format). We reserve the right to excerpt longer pieces for print, in consultation with the author; works in their entirety will be printed on the web.
Rights: We secure first North American serial rights and electronic archival rights (posting on the Web and in digital issues).

If any genre lacks a clear winner, fewer than four awards may be given. All entries will be considered for publication.

To read last year’s winners, click here.

A&U: America’s AIDS Magazine, a national print and online magazine now in its 27th year, regularly features interviews with writers, artists, and advocates such as Rabih Alameddine, Cleve Jones, Tony Kushner, E. Lynn Harris, Gore Vidal, Maria Mejia-Laing, Athol Fugard, Sapphire, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Peter Staley, John Waters, Emanuel Xavier, Andrew Holleran, Mark S. King, Dame Elizabeth Taylor, Chip Livingston, Janet Jackson, Anjelica Houston, Mondo Guerra, Michael Cunningham, Martin Duberman, Nancy Duncan, Mary Fisher, Aileen Getty, Mark Ruffalo, Alexandra Billings, Edmund White, Mary Bowman, and George Takei.